Dancing on the beach

When I learned of this CAL, I couldn’t believe it at first. I followed Marinke for a while, then I lost sight of her. Then I understood why.

Marinke was such a bright and colourful person. I loved all she made, it was like watching a huge meadow in full bloom. I now regret I hadn’t time to tell her how much I appreciated her creations and passion. The idea of doing this CAL in her memory was a really nice one. I decided to join at once. I ordered my kit and waited impatiently for the first clue to be released. You can find more here.

The theme is a last dance on the beach with her, hence the name. It’s a crochet blanket made of different squares; each square was designed by her closest friends, so each one is unique and full of love. This is not a common CAL. This is special.

The CAL facebook page has now over 15.000 members. We’re all together crocheting this project, and this is amazing. Everyone with their problems, everyone with their joys, but everyone in memory of Marinke. I feel I live in a better place when I think about how much love is put into this project from all around the World.

The CAL has three different colourway: Rain, Sea and Stars. I went for Rain as I was thinking about a dear friend who suffers from depression like Marinke, and I thought it was very appropriate for him. I also went for the Scheepjes Merino Soft instead of the Scheepjes Color Crafter as I’m not a fan of acrylic yarn.

kit colors MS

Quando ho saputo di questo CAL non riuscivo a crederci. Ho seguito Marinke per diverso tempo, fino a che i miei e i suoi impegni mi hanno costretto a perderla un pò di vista. Poi ho capito perchè non scriveva più nel blog.

Marinke era una persona fantastica. Davvero creativa. I suoi colori mi ricordavano tanto un grande prato eternamente in fiore, era davvero un piacere per gli occhi guardare i suoi coloratissimi lavori. Mi dispiace davvero molto di aver perso l’occasione per dirle quanto apprezzassi ogni suo progetto e quanto mi fosse di ispirazione. L’idea di questo CAL in sua memoria mi è piaciuta moltissimo. Ho subito ordinato il mio kit e atteso impazientemente che il primo indizio fosse rivelato. Qui maggiori info.

Si tratta di una coperta all’uncinetto composta da mattonelle di diverso stile e diverso colore. Ogni mattonella è stata disegnata da uno degli amici più stretti di Marinke, perciò ognuna di esse è unica e piena di affetto. Questo non è un CAL come gli altri. E’ speciale.

La pagina Facebook del CAL conta ormai più di 15.000 membri. L’idea che tutte queste persone, in ogni parte del pianeta, stanno lavorando assieme su una cosa del genere in memoria di questa ragazza, è semplicemente incredibile. Fantastica! Mi fa sentire in un mondo migliore, in qualche modo.

Il CAL è stato realizzato in tre differenti combinazioni di colori: Rain, Sea e Stars. Io ho scelto Rain perchè la pioggia mi ricorda un caro amico che soffre di depressione come Marinke. Ho optato per Scheepjes Merino Soft piuttosto che Scheepjes Color Crafter perchè in generale l’acrilico non mi piace.

scheepjes-cal-2016-last-dance-on-the-beach

I’ll add more pictures in the next weeks and maybe I’ll try to find some time to block all my squares.

Aggiungerò altre foto nelle prossime settimane e cercherò di bloccare tutte le mie mattonelle… ci credo poco!

Leave a Reply

